All drunk driving charges have the potential to seriously disrupt your life. It is a mistake to assume that pleading guilty is the easiest option. A guilty plea is the equivalent of a conviction and will stay on your criminal record for life.
At Hollander & Hanuka, Attorneys at Law, we help people fight DUI/DWI charges. Our experienced lawyers understand how the state prosecutes DUI/DWI cases. Attorney Lee Hollander is a former state prosecutor as well as a board-certified criminal trial lawyer by The Florida Bar. Daniel Hanuka is a former public defender who has the knowledge and experience to defend you. Please speak with us today to learn how we may help you with a DUI case.
Protecting Your License And Record
You have only 10 days after your arrest to request a license suspension hearing with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) to protect your license. If you miss the deadline, you may lose the chance to get your license back. We will represent you at the hearing and argue for the restoration of your driving privileges.
A first DUI conviction in Florida has penalties that may include:
A fine between $250 and $500
Up to six months in jail
Driver's license revocation of 180 days up to one year
Future DUI convictions will have harsher penalties and charges. You may be charged with a felony for a third DUI conviction within 10 years of the first DUI. A fourth or subsequent DUI will result in a felony charge.
You can rely on our experience reviewing arrest reports and analyzing breath tests and additional evidence. If the police did not follow proper procedure, we will argue for the resulting evidence to be thrown out.
For a free consultation, please call 239-300-9027 or contact us online.